Level Inflation : A Composition for Chamber Orchestra

by Ryan Rey

Institution: California State University – East Bay
Degree: MAin Music Composition
Year: 2015
Keywords: Chamber orchestra music  – Scores
Record ID: 2057877
Full text PDF: http://hdl.handle.net/10211.3/137875


Level Inflation is a 10-minute-long single movement chamber orchestra piece. Instrumentation is for a standard size chamber orchestra consisting of 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 B-flat clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, 2 C Trumpets, 2 trombones, 1 tuba, 1 percussionist, 6 first violins, 6 second violins, 5 violas, 4 cellos, and 3 double basses (,, perc., It was written during the winter and spring of 2013, and part of winter 2014. The piece is inspired by the idea of expansion and retraction. A variety of twentieth century compositional techniques in the western classical tradition are utilized throughout the piece, prominently including: phasing rhythms; rhythmic augmentation and diminution; and additive and subtractive rhythms. The complete score is included in the work.