AbstractsPhilosophy & Theology

The compositional process in four symphonies by Igor Stravinsky

by Feng Yin

Institution: Rice University
Year: 1990
Keywords: Music
Record ID: 1638174
Full text PDF: http://hdl.handle.net/1911/13484


This thesis discusses Stravinsky's Symphonies of Wind Instruments, Symphony of Psalms, Symphony in C and Symphony in Three Movements which were composed throughout his neoclassical period. The discussion is focused on the compositional process – the way the composer builds the logical flow of musical materials. Based on the analysis of the technical details of works the composer himself rarely discussed, the process observed in these four symphonies illustrates a unifying method of organizing musical materials; it proves to be a typical Stravinskian construction of musical architecture; it demonstrates a logical development of music, which is comprehensible and easy to follow; it provides a concrete musical illustration which accounts for Stravinsky's structural esthetics.